State of emergency
2013-06-21, 11:09 p.m.

Today is a day that will go down in Calgary history. It is the 2nd time within my life that I can remember schools and businesses being closed, the first was March 17, 1998 and it was due to snow. Today the city essentially shut down to wide spread flash flooding.
Last night many neighbourhoods were being evacuated, I didn't think too much of it, and figured everything would dry out over night and life would go on as per usual.
Not so much, Bruce told Darren first thing this morning that c-trains were down and downtown was filling with water, so Darren woke up me and was telling me I had better get going and figure out how I was going to get to work. I checked my email and was shocked to see that all offices were closed, and the city was trying to keep everybody out of the downtown core.
The Saddledome is apparently filled with water up to the 14th row, many of my friends have been evacuated, and Pen would have been if she wasn't in Europe.
There are no words to describe the pictures and news coverage that have been covering the media for the past day or so. There is water everywhere. There have been deaths in High River (most years when the town floods I giggle and comment, "what do they expect in a town named High River?" but it's not really funny this year).
The highway at Canmore washed away, houses are falling into streams in Millarville.
They are now saying the rivers are cresting, but who knows what is to come.
Stay safe Albertans <3

life - death


navigation
current
archives
profile

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
image
design