Bowling for Columbine
2009-03-30, 1:33 a.m.

I just watched Bowling for Columbine for the first time in 5 years, and although I have seen it several times before, it really hit hard tonight. I have seen the planes hit the twin towers dozens of times, and I have seen the footage of the security cameras from the Columbine high school... And I just can't help but feel shaken tonight. I feel grateful that I am fortunate enough to live north of the border, but I have to ask myself the same questions that Michael Moore proposes in the movie, what about that invisible line makes people so much more prone to shoot each other? At the time the movie was made (approx 2003?) they said there were about 11 000 shootings in the US in the previous year, and 165 in Canada. How is it fair that a little 6 year old girl got shot by a 6 year old classmate who had easy access to a gun, and decided to take it to school... The world will never be a fair place, but things like that just... almost make me wonder how anybody could believe in a sort of greater being. I have no idea what point I'm trying to make by writing this. I wish I hadn't chose to watch that movie tonight, alone in our apartment, where every clunk started to make me a little nervous...

life - death


navigation
current
archives
profile

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
image
design